fullcatastrophe

Give It A Go #10a

In Uncategorized on February 1, 2011 at 4:35 pm

Posted by Andy “Won’t Leave It Alone” Bell

Now I know I pulled the curtain down on this offering of public broadcasting goodies last week.

But the emergence on BBC Radio 7 of one of the greatest radio comedies in the history of the whole world ever has spurred me on to cut & paste a  URL one last time.

Ahem.

It’s the Burkiss Way which became something of a cult to students like what I was in the late 1970s.

Not for nothing is it known as “probably the most underrated comedy show ever to be broadcast on BBC radio” !!

OK the first episode does have a bad couple of gay jokes in the first few minutes, but that’s how it was in dem days. 

Actually Ep 1 is operating at about 20% of what the show became once it had settled down.

So be patient and you will be rewarded.

Give it a go over the coming weeks and do yourself a favour.

  1. loved this show. Used to record the broadcasts and listen with my mates after school. Helped me get through A levels and helped me settle at uni.
    Favourite shows were when Jo Kendel joined tha cast.

    • Hear hear re: Jo Kendall. Emile Burkiss also helped me through university. Somewhere there is a casette of the “this is your life” episode. Then there’s Eric Pode of Croydon …. “they treated me like a king….like a king: they kept burying me in Westminster Abbey. I got that off a Gagcrackers Ball” Choice!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

