fullcatastrophe

“Relevance deprivation syndrome…” now we’re talking!

In TFC on July 28, 2010 at 9:16 am

Posted by Tim Harrison

Just over three weeks to go until the 2010 Federal Election and the political rhetoric has given way to media absurdities.

Prime Minister Julia Gillard is fending off criticism of her personal life in her usual eloquent style (tip- see words in bold): “The decisions in my personal life I will make for personal reasons. It’s my life and I will make my personal choices.”    Yes, it’s all very personal.

Meanwhile, the Nine network went to air with a supposed Labor-originated leak alleging Gillard poo-pooed the parental leave program and the last pension rate increase.  But the real cut ‘n’ thrust is to be found in the most fabulous words of ex Victorian Premier Joan Kirner, where she questioned whether Laurie Oakes is suffering from “relevance deprivation syndrome.”

And that, my fellow countrymen, is the rub.  I put it to you that we are ALL suffering from Relevance Deprivation Syndrome (hereafter called ‘RDS’).

Let’s see…

RDS causes punters/voters/small European exotic dogs to question ‘what’s in this campaign for me?’

RDS makes us all wonder what the point of a ‘debate’ is when there was no debate.

RDS makes us wonder when people OTHER than ‘hardworking Australian families’ will get a fair whack at the coffers.

RDS makes me wonder why Julia Gillard strikes me as no more exciting than Kevin Rudd now that the novelty has worn off

RDS causes many, I’m sure, to wonder what Tony Abbott’s continuous carry on about ‘fitness’ has to do with running the country.  I mean, when has any pollie been really “fit for purpose”??  (Yes, con-tro-ver-sial!)

RDS makes me, and now probably you, wonder why all the rubbish in the media about Tim Mathieson’s marital status, Tony Abbott’s swimwear, Julia Gillard’s earlobes and Kevin Rudd’s leaks has nothing to do with governing the country.

And while you ponder your newly found disorder – RDS – I leave you with this… separated at birth?

Julia Gillard

Julia Gillard

Jodie Foster

Jodie Foster

Still not sure…?

Julia Gillard

Julia Gillard

Jodie Foster

Jodie Foster

Now THAT’S relevant!

  1. Is this going to be a gender election people? That would be a grave mistake I believe. Issues and policies are the important things here, and not who has the sexiest ankles or the prettiest hair colouring!

    It’s not very long ago that the American People voted in their First African American President – on a platform of ‘change’. I would guess that non white Americans were delirious when Barack Obama was sworn in as their 44th President, praying for, pleading for and dreaming of great changes that would be of immense benefit to themselves.
    http://just-me-in-t.blogspot.com/2010/07/why-would-younger-women-vote-for-julia.html

Leave a Reply

