fullcatastrophe

The Full Catastrophe November 13th 2010

In Uncategorized on November 13, 2010 at 9:53 pm

Hosted & Posted by Andy “It Was A Dark & Stormy Night” Bell

It was a night to hunker down and snuggle up to some top tunes.  Hopefully the mix did the trick !

Some TFC housekeeping: Tim & I will yield the airwaves a couple of times over the coming weeks.  To some Joy state election coverage on November 27th and to Carols by Queerlight on December 11th. 

And some matters arising: the Out 100 for who’s hot etc and the GayNZ site for the cartoon coming out poll.

Then then there’s the Canadian classic the Newsroom, a blog response.

Seasonal cheer, the wonder of democracy in action & musical silliness.  Saturday nights on Joy provide a smorgasbord of wireless wonderment.

###

Ger Ready – Temptations

Don’t Stop The Music – Brian Ferry

South Of The Border – Patsy Cline

One of the first songs I remember playing on a gramaphone/record player.  Loved it then, love it now.

And we all love Patsy Cline !!

Sex O’clock – Tiga

Miss Byrd – Denise Silvey

Jean Genie – David Bowie

Attention Must Be Paid – Portugal & Portuguese

AMBP looks at the musical riches of Portugal and its former colonies – a glorious mix.

Ha Dias Assim – Filipa Azeveda

Falso Testemunho – Maria Alice

A taste of the mix of cultures from Cape Verde

Brazil – Xavier Cugat & Orchestra

One of the great band leaders with a haunting song.

Transparente – Mariza

The queen of the unique fado style of singing.

Hi Honey Ho – Daddy Cool

Friendship – Ethel Merman & Bert Lahr

Softly Wild Drums – Ian Pearce Band

One of many Tasmanian jazz bands.

There But For Fortune – Maralene Powell

A voice I re-discovered recently.  Maralene was highly regarded in Wales in the60s & 70s and her voice is strikingly similar to Judith Durham.

Here’s another performance of this remarkable song.

Show me the prison, show me the jail
Show me the prisoner, whose life has gone stale
And I’ll show you, young man,
With so many reasons why
there but for fortune, go you or I……mm.mm

Show me the alley, show me the train
Show me the hobo, who sleeps out in the rain
And I’ll show you, young man,
With so many reasons why
there but for fortune ,go you or I, mm.mm

Show me the whiskey, stains on the floor
Show me the drunkard, as he stumbles out the door
And I’ll show you, young man
with so many reasons why
there but for fortune go you or I, mmm,mm

Show me the country, where the bombs had to fall
Show me the ruins of the buildings, once so tall
And I’ll show you, young land
with so many reasons why
there but for fortune go you and I, you and I.

Red River Valley – Garrison Keillor & Jearlyn Steele

A rousing track from the movie based on the long running US radio show the Prairie Home Companion

Home Again – Mark Seymour

You Took Advantage Of Me – June Christy

More – Bobby Darin

Baubles, Bangles & Beads – Sarah Vaughan

Congratulations Honey – Baby Washington & The Plants

One Perfect Day – The Little Heroes

Big Bad John – Jimmy Dean

Protect Your Mind – DJ Sakin & Friends

Leave a Reply

