fullcatastrophe

Bliss on Sunday with a musical duck

In Uncategorized on May 10, 2011 at 1:34 pm

Is music the most glorious of all human inventions ?

Absolutely in the opinion of this humble correspondent.

Every week I rant, rave, wax lyrical and spout nonsense about what’s just been heard or what’s about to be heard.

And so it goes.  On and on and – inevitably – on.

Recorded music is one thing, but the live variety is in its own glorious place in the heavens.

And that brings me to the musical duck AKA Duck Musique.

There I was at my local on Sunday afternoon, enjoying a rare weekend off from earning a living, and four blokes held me enraptured with a steadily growing smile on my face.  

These ducky ducks channel the  jazz-swing style of the  Quintette du Hot Club de France with percussive and sweet guitars, winsome and witty violin riffs and an all important double bass.

As someone who only started learning the violin because he loved the sound of the Quintette it was a late afternoon well & very happily spent.

To give you an idea of the sort of  “gear” that got me so floaty-woaty: compare and contrast.

Yes indeedy,I had a fine old time with Duck Musique … and a couple of cold ones.

Click on the link at the top  and have a listen to these splendid fellows. 

I did last weekend and it did me the world of good.

Merci beaucoup garcons.

Meanwhile in other duck related news.

  1. Hot Club jazz has a jois de vie (spelling? erg.) It’s great to hear it’s alive and well!

Leave a Reply

